Hannes Androsch invests in Longevity Labs • Spermidine LIFE
Choose a different country or region to see content for your location and shop online.
United States
Press
15.05.2019

Hannes Androsch invests in Longevity Labs

from left to right: Herbert Pock, Frank Madeo, Hannes Androsch, Gerald Sitte

The active ingredient spermidine is regarded as the key in slowing down “cell aging” and preventing age-related diseases. With spermidineLIFE®, developed in cooperation between the Karl-Franzens-University Graz and the health start-up Longevity Labs, a highly dosed spermidine product is being launched for the first time worldwide. Dr. Hannes Androsch has been already won as an investor.

Vienna, May 15, 2019: In old age, our body loses the ability to regenerate itself. Cell components die and weaken the cells. But this process can be influenced! The key to slowing down “cell aging” lies in the ability of cells to process and recycle their old cell components and thus remain youthful and healthy – this process is called “autophagy”. Until now, fasting has been regarded as the most efficient method of triggering autophagy. A research group led by the molecular biologist Prof. Dr. Frank Madeo at the Karl Franzens University Graz, found out over many years of research that this effect can also be triggered by a substance occurring in the human body – called “spermidine”. Meanwhile, around 80 research teams worldwide are looking into spermidine and studies are showing promising results, including a long-term study from Southern Tyrol: Higher spermidine consumption over a long period (20 years) correlated with reduced mortality and a five-year longer life expectancy (1). Prof. Madeo’s research shows an identical picture: “We were able to prove that spermidine also triggers an anti-aging effect in humans. Those who consume enough spermidine may thus extend their healthy lifespan,” says Madeo.

 

Made in Graz: Development for the Global Market

Unfortunately, with increasing age, the natural spermidine levels present in the human body and thus the self-purifying power of the cells decrease. Therefore, a method has been developed to extract spermidine from plants (wheat germ) and make it available to humans as a dietary supplement. The result is now available in the form of the product spermidineLIFE®. The “wheat germ extract with high spermidine content”, spermidineLIFE®, is the world’s first 100% natural product that can activate the process of autophagy due to the contained spermidine. spermidineLIFE® is manufactured by the Styrian health start-up Longevity Labs, founded in 2016 as a spin-off of the Karl-Franzens-University Graz and managed by DI Herbert Pock and Dr. Gerald Sitte, with headquarters and production facilities in Graz. “Today we know how our body cleanses and protects itself from cell damage. Taking into account decades of scientific and medical research, we have succeeded in developing the first natural product with spermidineLIFE® that can activate the process of autophagy in our cells. Thus, we offer a revolutionary way to support the self-renewal of cells, practically speaking cellular “anti-aging” through spermidine. Our product is a completely natural, spermidine-rich wheat germ extract. The European Food and Safety Authority(EFSA) has approved spermidineLIFE® as “Novel-Food”. It has also been evaluated in a clinical study by independent physicians and scientists for effectiveness and safety”, says Sitte.

The idea also convinced industrialist Hannes Androsch (81), who is heavily investing in Longevity Labs. “Dementia, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s – if one can alleviate, prevent or delay this, then it would be a huge gain in quality of life – combining a prolongued life span and a healthy living,” said Androsch explaining the motive for his investment, which now gives him a 51 percent high stake in the company.

Clinical study of the Charité in Berlin

A study at the Charité in Berlin is currently investigating the influence of Longevity Labs’ spermidine-rich wheat germ extract (spermidineLIFE® was used) on the learning ability and memory of older people who suffer from dementia. Initial results show that Longevity Labs’ spermidine-rich plant extract can improve memory performance in people at risk for Alzheimer’s disease. The cognitive performance of the study’s participants who took the spermidine-rich plant extract was demonstrably improved in the course of the trial. In comparison, the placebo control group showed no changes in memory performance. (2)

Health benefits are far-reaching

The efficacy of spermidine was proven about 10 years ago by Prof. Madeo and since then a rapidly growin number of scientists have been investigating the health effects and benefits of spermidine. On a near monthly bases, new findings are published and still the comprehensive health benefits cannot yet be fully assessed. Initial laboratory results show that spermidine can help prevent a variety of diseases, such as neurodegenerative diseases (dementia, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s). “Our work is deeply rooted in science and we invest a great deal in research. Only recently, preclinical tests have shown that spermidine has a protective effect on the cardiovascular system. On this basis, we are planning our next clinical study. We are happy and grateful that, as such a young Austrian company, we are attracting worldwide attention and that we can make a contribution to a long and healthy life,” said Pock.

 

References

https://academic.oup.com/ajcn/article-abstract/108/2/371/5046172?redirectedFrom=fulltext
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0010945218303137?via%3Dihub

 

Vedran Bijelac

Director Sales & Marketing

Ähnliche Beiträge

spermidineLIFE gewinnt den German Innovation Award!
Press
18.05.2021
spermidineLIFE® wins the German Innovation Award 2021!
On May 18, spermidineLIFE® was awarded the German Innovation Award 2021. This follows on from our wins in previous years.
Preisverleihung Feiern
Press
15.09.2020
spermidineLIFE® won the Pharma Oscar 2020!
The champagne corks are popping! On September 15th, spermidineLIFE® was elected “Most Innovative Product” at the “Pharma Trend – Image & Innovation Award 2020“. Thus, spermidineLIFE® follows up on the success of the previous year. In 2019 it was ranked 2nd place in the category “Product Innovations” by Insight Health.
Longevity Labs Team
Press
15.05.2019
Hannes Androsch invests in Longevity Labs
With spermidineLIFE®, a Longevity Labs innovation, a high-dose product containing spermidine premieres for the first time on the global market. Former Austrian Finance Minister Dr. Hannes Androsch has been found as an investor.

Presse
15.05.2019

Hannes Androsch investiert in Longevity Labs

v.l.n.r.: Herbert Pock, Frank Madeo, Hannes Androsch, Gerald Sitte

Der Wirkstoff Spermidin gilt als der Schlüssel, um die „Zellalterung“ des Körpers zu verlangsamen und altersbedingte Erkrankungen zu verhindern. Mit spermidineLIFE®, einer Entwicklung der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz und des Gesundheits-Start-Up Longevity Labs, kommt weltweit zum ersten Mal ein hochdosiertes Produkt mit Spermidin auf den Markt. Als Investor dafür konnte Dr. Hannes Androsch gewonnen werden. 

Wien, 15. Mai 2019. Im Alter verliert unser Körper die Fähigkeit, sich selbst zu regenerieren. Zellbestandteile sterben ab und schwächen die Zellen. Doch dieser Prozess lässt sich beeinflussen! Der Schlüssel, um die „Zellalterung“ zu verlangsamen, liegt in der Fähigkeit der Zellen, ihre alten Zellbestandteile aufzuarbeiten und wiederzuverwerten und damit jung und gesund zu bleiben – der sogenannten „Autophagie“. Bisher galt das Fasten als effizienteste Methode, die Autophagie im Körper gezielt auszulösen. Eine Arbeitsgruppe des Molekularbiologen Univ.-Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Frank Madeo an der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, fand in langjährigen Studien heraus, dass dieser Effekt aber auch durch eine im menschlichen Körper vorkommende Substanz – das „Spermidin“ – ausgelöst werden kann. Mittlerweile forschen rund 80 Forschungsteams weltweit an Spermidin und die Studien zeigen vielversprechende Ergebnisse.So auch eine Langzeitstudie aus Südtirol: Ein höherer Spermidinkonsum der Studienteilnehmer über einen langen Zeitraum (20 Jahre) korrelierte mit einer reduzierten Sterblichkeit und einer um fünf Jahre längeren Lebenserwartung (1). Prof. Madeos Forschungen zeigen ein identes Bild: „Wir konnten nachweisen, dass Spermidin auch beim Menschen einen Anti-Aging-Effekt auslöst. Wer ausreichend Spermidin zu sich nimmt, verlängert damit möglicherweise seine gesunde Lebensspanne“, so Madeo.

 

Grazer Entwicklung für den Weltmarkt

Leider sinkt mit zunehmendem Alter der im menschlichen Körper vorhandene natürliche Spermidin-Spiegel und damit die Selbstreinigungskraft der Zellen. Daher wurde eine Methode entwickelt, Spermidin aus Pflanzen (Weizenkeimen) zu isolieren und dem Menschen als Nahrungsergänzung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Das Ergebnis liegt jetzt in Form des Produkts spermidineLIFE® vor. Das „Weizenkeimextrakt mit hohem Spermidingehalt“, spermidineLIFE®, ist das weltweit erste 100% natürliche Produkt, das aufgrund des enthaltenen Spermidins den Autophagie-Prozess aktivieren kann. Hergestellt wird spermidineLIFE® von dem 2016 als Spin-off der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz gegründeten und von DI Herbert Pock und Dr. Gerald Sitte geführten, steirischen Gesundheits-Start-Up Longevity Labs mit Sitz und Produktion in Graz. „Heute wissen wir, wie sich unser Körper selbst reinigt und vor Zellbeschädigungen schützt. Unter Berücksichtigung jahrzehntelanger wissenschaftlicher und medizinischer Forschung haben wir es mit spermidineLIFE® geschafft, das erste natürliche Produkt zu entwickeln, das den Autophagie-Prozess in unseren Körperzellen aktivieren kann. Damit bieten wir einen revolutionären Weg zur Unterstützung der Selbsterneuerung der Zellen, quasi zelluläres „Anti-Aging“ durch Spermidin“. Bei unserem Produkt handelt es sich um ein völlig natürliches, spermidinreiches Weizenkeimextrakt. Sowohl die EFSA (European Food and Safety Authority) als auch die AGES haben spermidineLIFE® als Novel-Food genehmigt, und es wurde in einer klinischen Studie von unabhängigen Medizinern und Wissenschaftlern auf die Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit evaluiert“, so Sitte.

Die Idee überzeugte auch den Industriellen Hannes Androsch (81), der mit einem Investment bei Longevity Labs einsteigt. „Demenz, Alzheimer, Parkinson – wenn man das mildern, verhindern oder verzögern kann, dann wäre das ein gewaltiger Gewinn an Lebensqualität – in der Lebensspanne und Gesundheitsspanne einander möglichst nah kommen“, erklärt Androsch das Motiv für sein Investment, mit dem er nun 51 Prozent der Anteile am Unternehmen hält.

Klinische Studie der Berliner Charité

Aktuell wird in einer Studie an der Charité in Berlin der Einfluss des spermidinreichen Weizenkeimextrakts von Longevity Labs (verwendet wurde spermidineLIFE®) auf die Lernfähigkeit und das Gedächtnis von älteren Personen, die zu Gedächtnisverlust neigen, untersucht. Erste Ergebnisse zeigen, dass das spermidinreiche Pflanzenextrakt von Longevity Labs die Gedächtnisleistung von Menschen mit erhöhtem Alzheimerrisiko verbessern kann. Die kognitive Leistung der Studienteilnehmer, welche das spermidinreiche Pflanzenextrakt einnahmen, verbesserte sich im Verlauf der Studie nachweislich. Im Vergleich dazu zeigte die Placebo-Kontrollgruppe keine Veränderungen bei der Gedächtnisleistung. (2)

Gesundheitliche Vorteile sind weitreichend 

Die Wirksamkeit von Spermidin wurde vor rund 10 Jahren durch Prof. Madeo nachgewiesen und seither beschäftigen sich mehr und mehr Wissenschaftler mit den gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen und Vorteilen von Spermidin. „Spermidin ist wissenschaftlich gesehen noch ein sehr junges Forschungsfeld. Beinahe monatlich werden neue Erkenntnisse veröffentlicht und dennoch kann man die umfassenden gesundheitlichen Vorteile noch nicht vollinhaltlich abschätzen. Erste Ergebnisse im Labor zeigen, dass Spermidin eine Vielzahl von Krankheiten unterstützend vorbeugen kann, wie bspw. neurodegenerative Krankheiten (Demenz, Alzheimer, Parkinson). Unsere Arbeiten sind wissenschaftlich geprägt und wir investieren sehr viel in die Forschung. Erst unlängst konnte in präklinischen Tests auch nachgewiesen werden, dass Spermidin eine schützende Wirkung auf das Herz-Kreislauf-System hat. Aufbauend darauf planen wir unsere nächste klinische Studie. Wir sind glücklich und dankbar, dass wir als ein so junges österreichisches Unternehmen weltweit Beachtung finden und wir einen Beitrag zu einem langen und gesunden Leben leisten können“, so Pock.

 

Quellenangaben
https://academic.oup.com/ajcn/article-abstract/108/2/371/5046172?redirectedFrom=fulltext
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0010945218303137?via%3Dihub

 

Vedran Bijelac

Director Sales & Marketing

Ähnliche Beiträge

Presse
24.09.2019
Graz99ers setzen auf spermidineLIFE®
Longevity Labs als neuer Sponsor für die Graz99ers. Mit 200 Monatspackungen spermidineLIFE®, unterstützen wir die steirischen Eishockey-Stars.
Presse
15.05.2019
Hannes Androsch investiert in Longevity Labs
Mit spermidineLIFE®, einer Entwicklung von Longevity Labs, kommt weltweit zum ersten Mal ein hochdosiertes Produkt mit Spermidin auf den Markt. Als Investor dafür konnte Dr. Hannes Androsch gewonnen werden.